Future Leadership Institute (FLI)

By Kerry Schmid

I had the great privilege to be a part of the Future Leadership Institute (FLI) hosted by AIHA. I first would like to thank AIHA, the FLI advisory board and all the sponsors; without all of you, this event could have not happened.

This event was facilitated by Jeffery Cufaud and through him, our group of 35 learned valuable lessons in leadership, engagement and how to grow ourselves and our profession.

I left this event with a stronger understanding on what drives my passion of industrial hygiene and how I can continue that passion throughout my career. At FLI we explored our strengths and weakness and how to grow our leadership style.

During one of the sessions, we watched a TedX Talk by Simon Sinek. This video has left an impression on how I tackle and approach goals, problems and teams. Check out his book and the TED video link below!

Start with Why – How Great Leaders Inspire Everyone to Take Action”

Why

Kate Cole, a FLI graduate, wrote in her blog, The Young Occupational Hygienist about her experience.

“I was inspired to take on new challenges and to engage others on that journey. I learned how to be a better listener and how to go about a better way of doing things by having a greater appreciation of how others may view the situation at hand. I was motivated to continue to do my best to promote our profession given the many people who came up to personally thank me for getting this blog started and for offering their feedback and suggestions, and assistance in the future (thanks for the support!).”

I encourage all my fellow FLI graduates to talk about your experience with other young professionals in our field.

Leave a Reply

